Christian Living · Personal

Two Anchors For My Soul

The Lord has graciously gifted me 34 years on this earth.

Yesterday was my birthday. Throughout the day I spent some time pondering the innumerable ways God continues to be faithful to me despite my heart’s propensity to wander. It is good for our soul to reflect over the works of God in our life. From the days of walking in the darkness to Him bringing us into His marvelous light. And for me, my birthday tends to be one of those moments where I try to be a bit more introspective.

As I have thought back through the years until now, two thoughts continually stick out to me regarding how God has been at work. Aside from His underserving and amazing grace, these two truths have been an anchor for my soul. They have grounded me in my faith as I have traversed different paths over the decades. And while my journey is still ongoing, I know these truths will continue to be a beacon of light throughout my pilgrimage to my final home.

So what are these two truths that have provided me with such hope?

[God’s Goodness & Sovereignty ] 

I continually recall and revisit these two character traits of our Lord over and over again. In a sinful world, where we are not in control, where we are faced with difficulties, where things happen that we cannot understand, when we fall, when justices fail, when we don’t know our next step…. God’s goodness and sovereign reign have been and are my footholds over life’s rocky terrain.

I think back to before I came to know Christ as my Lord and Savior, when my world was filled with hopelessness, darkness, and purposelessness. Even then God was in control, showing me His goodness through His kindness, gently revealing my need of Him and calling me to turn from my sin. In the midst of my desire to live for myself and turn away from Him, His goodness prevailed. In retrospect, I see ways in which He sovereignly orchestrated events in my life to bring me to salvation. How His will was working for my good. There were hard times and specific situations that still cause my heart to ache, but my gratitude for His sovereignty prevails over my deepest hurts as I now see how He has used certain events to draw me to Himself.

Walking In Faith By Trusting God’s Sovereignty & Goodness

It’s not always easy to walk by faith. We tend to be a people who want certainty. Yet, time and time again the Lord’s ways have never left me wanting. His path has never left me deserted with no where to take refuge. It is quite the opposite. I feel most certain and at peace when I trust that He is supremely reigning over every square inch of my life. And what’s more is that His sovereignty is ALWAYS coupled with His goodness. It would be one thing to have a sovereign God, who did what He pleased with no care for His creation, with no love in His heart toward humanity. Yet, His sovereignty is never without good — good that is grounded in His love for us and for His glory. THAT is why I can trust Him. THAT is why I walk by faith.

And as we walk by faith, it’s not just trusting that He is in control of all the major events. Yes, that does bring me comfort. But life is mainly composed of the little, everyday moments. And as a mom, this is especially glorious to me as I find that He is at work in all the mundane tasks that comprise most of my day. From the start of my day to its finish, He is over it, in it, and working through it. There is a purpose. There is guidance. There is good to be found.

So today, I would just like to invite you to rest in the hands that not only created the whole world, but also hold it together. The days of our lives are not left to chance. In Christ, we are not aimlessly meandering through space and time. As I reach another milestone in age, I rest securely in the knowledge of my Savior’s good and sovereign plan for my life. I take solace in knowing His sovereignty always includes His goodness.

And on that note, I will close with J.I. Packer’s thoughts:

Guidance, like all God’s acts of blessing under the covenant of grace, is a sovereign act. Not merely does God will to guide us in the sense of showing us his way, that we may tread it; he wills also to guide us in the more fundamental sense of ensuring that, whatever happens, whatever mistakes we may make, we shall come safely home. Slippings and strayings there will be, no doubt, but the everlasting arms are beneath us; we shall be caught, rescued, restored. This is God’s promise; this is how good he is.

Spent the day with my boys- enjoying God’s creation.
Leave a Reply

